The Nordic Council of Ministers

NAPA is a cultural institution under The Nordic Council of Ministers and its work is based on the Cultural Strategy of the council. The strategy is prepared by The Nordic Council of Ministers for Culture which consists of the Ministers of Culture from the Nordic countries. The current Cultural Strategy is in force till 2020.

Based on the current Cultural Strategy, NAPA has chosen to focus on following areas :

The Nordic Council

The Nordic Council is the parliamentary body for Nordic cooperation and is comparable to the parliaments of the Nordic countries. The council has a total of 87 elected members from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden as well as The Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland. The members of the Council are members of the national parliaments and are nominated by the party groups. There is no procedure for direct election to the Nordic Council.

The Nordic Council, which is run by a Presidium, comes together at two annual meetings – the Ordinary Session and the Theme Session – at which the Nordic politicians make decisions on issues they later call on the Nordic governments to implement. Nordic Council issues proposals and works continuously to influence the Nordic governments in finding effective solutions to Nordic issues.